Art-Based Research: The Art of Using Art as a Primary Mode of Inquiry – Honoring the work of Shaun McNiff

 In
IACAET

Art-Based Research: The Art of Using Art as a Primary Mode of Inquiry – Honoring the work of Shaun McNiff

by IACAET
 
1354 people viewed this event.

IACAET Global Webinar series ‘Research and the Arts’ — Part two

Time: February 13th 2022, 8:00AM – 9:30AM, (Los Angeles) / 11AM -12:30PM (New York) /  4:00PM – 5:30PM (London) /  6:00PM – 7:30PM (Israel)

Artistic inquiry is an important source and method for investigating the human condition. Shaun McNiff has been engaged in this form of artistic inquiry for five decades through his practice, teaching, writings, and research. Recognized internationally as a pioneer in the fields of expressive and creative arts therapy and the rapidly growing practice of art-based research, his work has had a profound influence on our understanding of the applications of the expressive and creative arts.

This global webinar will begin with a talk by Shaun where he will define and reflect on his work with art-based research, looking at the opportunities and challenges he has faced. He will be followed by a distinguished group of colleagues, including some of his former students. A brief epistemological and practical foundation of what is art-based research will be presented. The presenters will then move into highlighting practical art-based research concepts and projects looking at various forms of artistic expression, specific challenges and insights gleaned through placing art and artists at the center of inquiry. We will conclude with panelists exploring the ‘opportunities and challenges’ that using art as a primary source of inquiry holds for creative arts educators, therapists and others committed to art’s proven history of furthering human understanding and experience.

Speakers:

Dr. Shaun McNiff, Dr. Ross Prior, Dr. Mitchell Kossak, Dr. Michal Lev, Dr. Dina Fried, Dr. Dori Bryan-Ployer, Dr. Abbe Miller

Curators:

Curators: Dr. Vivien Marcow Speiser, Dr. Michal Lev

Attendees learning outcomes:

– Define the art-based research (ABR) model as developed by Dr. Shaun McNiff.

– Review the ‘making of art’ process component for carrying out ABR.

– Identify and discuss opportunities and challenges for doing ABR.

Register here

(This event is free for IACAET Registered members).

 

Date And Time

Sun, Feb 13, 2022 @ 11:00 AM (EDT) to
Sun, Feb 13, 2022 @ 12:30 PM (EDT)
 

Region

 

Venue

 

Format

 

Language

 
 
 
Share With Friends
Recent Posts